Additional Contributors

A significant amount of the projects we do are supported by additional funding through agencies and other organizations. Much of this funding was obtained through competitive peer-reviewed proposals and others through state grants and inter-agency and sole source agreements.

  • Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation*
  • Alaska Department of Fish and Game*
  • Alaska ShoreZone Partnership
  • Alaska State Legislature
  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
  • Cook Inlet Spill Prevention and Response Inc. (CISPRI)
  • Coastal Marine Institute, UAF
  • Coastal Impact Assistance Program (CIAP), Alaska Department of Natural Resources
  • Alaska Department of Commerce, Community and Economic Development
  • Environmental Protection Agency*
  • EVOS Trustee Council
  • Kachemak Bay Research Reserve
  • Kenai Peninsula Borough
  • National Fish and Wildlife Foundation
  • National Park Service
  • NOAA, National Ocean Service, Office of Response & Restoration
  • NOAA, NMFS, Auke Bay Laboratories
  • NOAA, NMFS, Alaska Regional Office, Alaska Fisheries Science Center
  • NOAA, Northwest Fisheries Science Center
  • NOAA, National Ocean Service, National Weather Service
  • Oil Spill Recovery Institute
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service*
  • Washington Department of Ecology
  • University of Washington
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • University of Alaska Anchorage

*Denotes Ex Officio Members

Strength Through Partnerships

Since 1990, CIRCAC has worked to represent the interests and concerns of our member organizations and communities, while fostering a cooperative partnership with industry and government. The key to our long-term success has been our ability to build and sustain positive working relationships with the Charter Funding Companies operating in the Inlet and our state and federal partners.

CIRCAC has demonstrated that citizens, government and industry can work together to reach consensus and to achieve better results. Together, we will continue to work toward the common goal of safer oil production and transportation in Cook Inlet.

Partnering Agencies and Organizations

  • Alaska Ocean Observing System
  • Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation
  • Alaska Department of Natural Resources
  • Bureau of Safety and Environmental Enforcement
  • Bureau of Ocean Energy Management
  • City of Kenai
  • Cook Inlet Spill Prevention and Response Inc.
  • Kenai Peninsula Borough
  • Marine Exchange of Alaska
  • National Oceanographic and Atmospheric Administration
  • National Weather Service
  • Nuka Research
  • Oil Spill Recovery Institute
  • Prince William Sound Regional Citizens’ Advisory Council
  • The Nature Conservancy
  • University of Alaska Anchorage
  • University of Alaska Fairbanks
  • U.S. Coast Guard
  • U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
  • U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  • U.S. Forest Service

Specialized Support

Much of the work CIRCAC accomplishes is through staff, Committees, the Board and partners. However, when necessary, we do seek specialized and technical expertise and logistical support to help us achieve our goals. Some of these contractors we have employed over the years include:

  • Arthur D. Little
  • Big G
  • Cape International
  • Clearwater Air
  • Coastwise Services
  • Driskell and Associates
  • Eley & Associates
  • Geochemical and Environmental Research Group, Texas A&M University
  • Glosten & Associates
  • IT Department
  • Kasitsna Bay Laboratory
  • Kenai Helicopters
  • Kinnetic Laboratories
  • Littoral Ecological and Environmental Services
  • Maritime Helicopters
  • Mote Marine Laboratory
  • Nuka Research and Planning
  • Payne Environmental
  • Pearson Consulting
  • ProComm Alaska LLC
  • Rediske Air
  • Research Vessels Kittiwake II, Waters, Island C, Auklet, Ocean Cape, and Columbia
  • Smithsonian Environmental Research Center
  • University of Washington
  • Woods Hole Group


CIRCAC is a better organization because of the dedication and expertise of its many volunteers. We are grateful to those who have served in the past and are currently serving on our Board of Directors, Public Committees, and as Ex Officio members. Thank you.

Robert Brodie
Jack Brown
Jim Carter
Ken Castner
Wayne Coleman
Doug Coughenower
John Crawford
Valerie Edmundson
Captain Glen Glenzer
Cathy Godfrey
Vern McCorkle
Tom Mears
Mike Milligan
Karl Pulliam
Joe Skrha
Larry Smith
Dan Winn
Dave Woodruff
Randall Cox
Rusty Myers
Vince O’Reilly
Dennis Randa
Karen Wood
Loren Flagg
Captain Richard Asaro
Joe Dygas
Leo Keeler
Pete Petram
Lieutenant John Kwietniak
Kris O’Connor
Chris Swanson
Mark Sienkiewicz
John Whitney
Marie Becker
John Douglas
Captain Max Miller
Joe Sautner
Claudia Slater
Captain A.D. Santos
Doug Jones

Mary Jacobs
Todd Miner
Christopher Dillon
Tamara Smid
David Horne
Dora Dushkin
Dexter Ogle
Joy Gieselman
Gary Lehnhausen
Carl Lautenberg
Bill Stillings
Dave Hanneman
Betty Glick
June Reuling
Thomas Walters
Charles Dickson
Chris Berns
Al Ewing
Richard Prentki
Captain Edmond Thompson
Bill Cobb
Mike Lucky
Mike Byington
Captain Barry Eldridge
John Lewis
Al Hastings
James Hornaday
Mariah Offer
Matt Carr
Mike Munger
Orson Smith
Susan Huse
Jim Dellinger
Sanne Berrig
Debra Horne
Paul McCollum
Paul Shadura
Phil Squires
Horace Hunt
Steve Okkonen

Captain William Hutmacher
Ron Rainey
Grace Merkes
Sam Christian
Jack Cushing
Merritt Mitchell
Noel Lamothe
Carol Kvasnikoff
Steve Hackett
Steve Hunt
Jerry Brookman
Rob Lindsey
David Raskin
Lani Kai Eggertsen-Goff
Bob Baker
Bruce Gabrys
Susan Harvey
Jim Harris
Bob Shavelson
Robert Peterkin, II
Joe Gabriel
Captain Ron Morris
Robert LaPointe
Tom Bucceri
James Showalter
Bill Osborn
John French
Craig Valentine
Elizabeth Chilton
Molly McCammon
Carla Stanley
Michelle Heun
Marilyn Sigman
Walter Koning
Lois Epstein
Phillip Cutler
Captain Mark Devries
Betty Schorr
Trenten Dodson
Gary Fandrei

Deric Marcorelle
Patricia Winn
Bob Flint
Ted Moore
Mavis Owens
Captain Mark Hamilton
Curt Menard
Bruce Buzby
Saree Timmons
Gary Folley
Jay Stinson
Tommy Johnson
Keith Gain
John Williams
Captain Jason Fosdick
Paul Blanche
Allison Miller
Kashif Ahmed Naser
Scott Hamann
Robert Favretto
Michael Opheim
Daniel Urban
Walt Sonen
Scott Smiley
Ted Rockwell
Jan Hansen
Steven Lufkin
Heather Crowley
Ginny Litchfield
Kathleen King
John Bauer
Eric Klein
Robert Reges
Captain Paul Anderson
Catherine Berg
Steve Russell
Colin Blair
James Benzschawel
James McHale